GarageBand V10: PopUp Deletion Danger

In this episode of Minute GarageBand, we’re going to show you why you need to be careful when using the track header’s popUp menu.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

In version 10 of GarageBand, there’s a hidden popUp menu available from the track headers.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

Oddly, if you control-click in a blank portion of the header area there is no menu, only if you control-click within an existing track header will it appear.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

This makes it seem that the menu belongs to the track from which you invoke it, but in reality, the menu belongs to the entire set of track headers.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

This can most clearly be demonstrated using

the Rename option.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

If we control-click on an arbitrary track and select that option, the track to be renamed

is not that in which we clicked,

but is whichever track

selected!

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

While this particular operation made it obvious, you could wind up losing an important recording if you use the delete option and are not paying attention.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

For this example, we have 3 tracks all named VO which have 3 different takes.

We’ve listened and compared them and decided

that the second take isn’t all acceptable,

so we decide to delete it using the popUp menu.

GarageBand V10 Tutorials
GarageBand V10 Tutorials

the problem is that what has deleted not the second take but the first one.

if we undo the delete and stagger the regions we can clearly see this.

Always be sure to click on the track to select it before invoking the popUp menu so that you don’t accidentally remove the wrong recording.

That’s all we have for this episode hope you found it useful